Welcome!

Welcome to Cat and the Wool!

Here you will find all sorts of wonderful and creative ways that I express my love of crochet and colourful things! And cats. A really BIG love for cats. The name of my blog is a little interplay on words between my love of crochet, wool, my cat, and my nickname “Kat”. Enjoy!

Firstly: what is crochet?

Wikipedia defines it as “… a process of creating fabric from yarn, thread, or other material strands using a crochet hook. The word is derived from the French word “crochet”, meaning hook.Aha, spot on!

I learnt to crochet about 2 years ago and since then have been trying everything under the guise of crochet ever since. Luckily my mother had crocheted as well, and I could use all of her items and tools for the first few months and inherit her wool! Yay for creative moms! My inspiration comes from lovely textures, geometric patterns, and lots of colour! And many hours searching on google 🙂

But to let you peek into my world, I have one special little guy whom I not only crocheted, but has already been winding up a storm with all his antics!

Mike the Minion!

I crocheted Mike using a great pattern created by Marissa Givens (http://thecraftycrocheter.blogspot.com/2013/07/despicable-me-minion-pattern-free.html). I’ve modified the pattern a bit and it took quite a while to put Mike together with all the sewing and stitching, but he turned out amazing!

P1160619

Over the next few weeks I’ll be making The Minion Documentaries to show you what Mike’s antics entail! I’ll also post about projects I am currently busy with or have completed. Feel free to share ideas for future posts!

Not only did Mike the Minion enjoy putting up the Christmas tree in December recently…

Xmas  Lights

P1140892

… he is quite the baker too!

P1140860

Yummy gingerbread cookies!

Stay tuned for more episodes of The Minion Documentaries and a showcase of all the crochet things I’ve been up to!

**And if you can’t get enough of the Despicable Me Minions, here’s the Banana song video link** 

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wCkerYMffMo

Leave a Reply

