Rainbow Pencil Case

All this rainbow coloured cotton is making me want to crochet the world full of colour! In my previous post Think bright colours!  I mentioned I might be busy with another RAINBOW themed crochet project.

Purse and Pencil Case

And indeed it was a rainbow pencil case! Rainbow item number 2!

Two Pencil Cases

I’ve crocheted this pencil case specifically for my art pencils and items as they’re always lying all over the place or in irritating plastic holders. I want to keep my things together, and with a pencil case this bright I won’t lose them!

So I started with a rectangle piece in single crochet and worked 10 rows. On the last row, instead of finishing off I continued around the corner with single crochet. Here I used 1 single crochet stitch per row, and immediately started to work upwards to create a box. So no increasing around the corneres to make a flat curve. The rectangular piece serves as a base for the pencil case.

Pencil Case Start 2

You can see that I started with the darkest colour first – PURPLE – and worked my way through the colours.

Even this 4-colour combo of PURPLEDARK BLUEAQUAMARINE BLUE looks amazing! I’m sure I’ll be crocheting a few items just in these 4 colours in the future.

Pencil Case Start

I kept on going with the colours, going from dark blue to light blue with 3 rows per colour (2 treble rows and 1 half treble row). As you can see from the photo, while my small rainbow pencil case is not in use, I lay it flat and it becomes quite a nice coaster for my coffee 🙂 Aha! Another idea in the making!

Pencil Case

I kept on going until I reached my desired height with the pencil case, although I must admit I did make the green, yellow and orange only 2 rows of trebles and didn’t do the third row of half trebles. Then with red instead of the half treble row I did a single crochet row so that I’d have enough security to sew in a zip and lining. I was happy with the size and decided to leave it at that.

And OH WOW did it turn out pretty!!!

Pencil Case 2

The colours are SO vibrant!!! When I finished crocheting this pencil case I couldn’t stop looking at it because it was so bright! Not to mention, Elle’s Premier Natural Cotton feels divine too :-). In the photo you can see how even my Alphons Mucha Moleskine journal can fit into the pencil case (I have a soft spot for Art Nouveau and couldn’t keep my hands off the journal the moment I saw it). So now all my pencils and pens for drawing have a colourful home, handmade just for them.

I must still find a zip and lining, but that will be at a later stage and I will update all my posts once all the items are complete in the sewing department.

I might end up making a zigzagged mug warmer as well as I’ve just found so many easy patterns and loads of inspiration! Watch this space!

For now, I’m over the moon with my RAINBOWinspired crochet!!!

Leave a Reply

