Rainbow Beanie

Clearly a beanie frenzy has taken over at Cat and the Wool, because I’ve started another beanie! One with super amazing rainbow colours! You can really tell I like rainbows 🙂

I started out exactly the same as for the purple beanie in the previous post, except this time switching colours every second row. It even looks amazing with just 4 colours already!

Circle Start

I had a big stash of Elle premier DK cotton in all the colours of the rainbow so I had to find a few uses for them 😛

Wool

I kept going until the hat was the desired width and size, and then switched to a smaller hook for the last few rounds (4.00mm to a 2.5mm – I didn’t have a 3.00mm!). I had initially started out doing a ribbed edge, but decided against it as the beanie looked fine without it.

And then….TAAADAAA!!!

Finished

It worked out perfectly! And I’m really getting addicted to them because they are so easy to make! You could take it up a notch and include different stitch patterns, but that’s another blog for another day I think. Who knows, maybe I’ll end up making them colour coded to match my wardrobe?!

The Minions however also thought this rainbow beanie was the coolest thing and decided to have a little fun. Mike and Frank are having a whale of a time, while Stein suspects a beanie would be a perfect place for a nap 😛

Mike with Beanie

Stein and Frank with Beanie

On that note, stay tuned to find out what other crochet creations evolve with the Minions and Cat and the Wool!

One thought on “Rainbow Beanie

Leave a Reply

